We are delighted to announce that Cork fire fighter “The Running Fireman” Alex O’Shea will attempt his 32 Marathons, 32 counties in 16 days Challenge starting in Dingle, Co. Kerry on Saturday, 1st September. All proceeds will go towards supporting our life changing work.

Alex will be joined on his challenge by Tralee native Garda Ollie O’Sullivan who will not only crew for Alex but will take on his own personal challenge to run 50km of the 84km a day every day of the challenge.

Ahead of the Challenge Alex said: “A big thanks to everyone across the country for supporting us. We are looking forward to taking our amazing challenge  nationwide. I would encourage everyone to come along and run even part of the distance.”

Patrick Burke, our chairperson  commented: “We have huge admiration for the courage Alex is showing to take on this momentous challenge. Everyone here wishes him and Ollie the very best of luck. Support like this makes a real difference to our work changing lives of those who are vision impaired and families of children with autism.”

There are numerous ways to get involved including joining Alex by running anything from a mile to a full marathon, making a donation or taking a sponsorship card.

The Challenge                                                            
Saturday 1 Sept Marathon 1 Dingle Marathon, Co, Kerry Marathon 2 Great Southern Trail, Abbeyfeale, Limerick Sunday 2 Sept Marathon 3 Clarisford Park, Killaloe, Clare Marathon 4 Rinville Park, Oranmore, Galway Monday 3 Sept Marathon 5 McMahon. Clare Lake Park, Claremorris, Mayo Marathon 6 Lough Key Forest Park, Roscommon Tuesday 4 Sept Marathon 7 Kennedy Parade, Sligo Town Marathon 8 Acres Lake, Drumshanbo, Leitrim Village, Leitrim Wednesday 5 Sept Marathon 9 Enniskillen Lake Land Forum Centre, 11 Shore Road Enniskillen, BT747EF Fermanagh Marathon 10 Allingham Arms Car Park Eircode F94XNHO, Bundoran, Donegal Thursday 6 Sept Marathon 11 Omagh Leisure Complex, Old Mountfield Rd, Omagh BT797EG, Tyrone Marathon 12 Larvey Centre Termoneeny, 60 Quarry Rd, Magherafelt BT458NS, Derry Friday 7 Sept Marathon 13 Victoria Park, Belfast, Antrim Marathon 14 Stormont Park, Belfast, Down Saturday 8 Sept Marathon 15 11 main street loughall, BT618HZ, Armagh Marathon 16 Emy Lough, Monaghan Sunday 9 Sept Marathon 17 Rosewood Bar & Restaurant, Newry Road, Ravensdale, Drumnasillagh, Dundalk, Louth Marathon 18 Garda HQ, Phoenix Park, Dublin Monday 10 Sept Marathon 19 Blackwater Park, Navan, Meath Marathon 20 Forest Park, Deerpark, Cavan Tuesday 11 Sept Marathon 21 Canal Court, Park Road, Longford Marathon 22 Lilliput Adventure Centre, Lilliput House, Lough Ennell, Westmeath Wednesday 12 Sept Marathon 23 Donadea Forest Park, Kildare Marathon 24 Mount Lucas Wind Farm, Ballycon, Offaly Thursday 13 Sept Marathon 25 Templemore Garda Training College, Tipperary Marathon 26 Durrow Woods, Durrow, Laois Friday 14 Sept Marathon 27 Avondale Forrest Park Rathdrum, Wicklow Marathon 28 Ravens Point, Coolrainey, Curracloe, Wexford Saturday 15 Sept Marathon 29 Adrenline HPL, Ballyvergal, Carlow Marathon 30 The Medieval Marathon, Kilkenny Sunday 16 Sept Marathon 31 Walton park, Dungarvan Waterford Marathon 32 Cork City Hall/Fire Station, Cork
Further information including routes & times can be viewed at:– www.alexoshea.ie